Website Headers COS
  • Description

  • Programme structure

  • Modules

  • Academic Personnel

  • Contact Details

PROGRAMME OBJECTIVE

The mission of the undergraduate programme in Economics is to provide a strong foundation in economic theory and quantitative analysis. The program introduces students to macro- and microeconomic theory teaches them to think and write clearly about economic problems and policy issues and to use ‘real-world” data to forecast behaviour and to investigate the relationships between observed phenomena and economic models. 

WHY CHOOSE TO ATTEND?

In order to accommodate students’ wide variety of goals, three specialisations are available: a) Energy Economics with emphasis on Oil and Gas Economics, b) Business Economics, and c) Banking and Finance. The three specialisations are designed to provide students with a solid understanding of the central theories and analytical tools of the field of economics while maintaining the necessary flexibility to meet the needs of diversity in career paths in a variety of promising industries, private firms, and organisations, as well as in the public domain. Students completing this degree will be well-equipped to pursue graduate work (professional or academic) or enter directly the business world or public service.

 

European Credit Units - ECTS: 240

Teaching Language: Greek

Level of Studies: Undergraduate

Title to be Awarded: Bachelor’s degree (BA)

 

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

Applicants must hold a secondary education degree (or equivalent). Good computer skills (internet and email) are needed. Sufficient English language knowledge is desirable. 

FEES / ADMINISTRATIVE COST

The total administrative cost of the Programme is €8400. The cost of each Module is €350. Administrative costs are charged per Module.  

APPLICATIONS

Applications can be submitted exclusively online, via the OUC website at https://applications.ouc.ac.cy/admissions?sap-language=EN

PROGRAMME STRUCTURE

For the successful completion of the bachelor programme in Economics, students must successfully undertake twenty-four (24) modules.

Students can undertake up to three (3) modules per semester. Full-time study of the programme requires the selection of three (3) modules whereas the selection of one (1) or (2) modules is considered part-time.

For the successful completion of each Module, students, under the supervision of their Professors, are required to submit three (3) written assignments per Module.

At the end of each semester, students must sit final written exams for each module.

FIRST YEAR

In the first year, students learn to think like economists and become familiar with the tools used to analyse real financial problems. This knowledge is the background on which the rest of their studies will be based.

SECOND YEAR

The second year consists of compulsory modules in Microeconomic and Macroeconomic Analysis, Accounting, Econometrics, Public Finance and Industrial Organisation.

THIRD YEAR

In the third year, students choose one of the three directions according to their interests. Specifically, the third year includes two compulsory (Principles of Financial Theory and International Finance), two compulsory specialised modules and two elective modules.

FOURTH YEAR

The modules of the fourth year give the students the opportunity to deepen their specialisation courses according to the chosen direction, but also to attend elective modules according to their interests and professional pursuits. Specifically, the fourth year includes four specialisation modules and two electives.

Programme of Study Layout

Economics

Modules

Semester

Required / Elective

Pre-requisite Modules

Co-requisite Modules

Workload

Hours

ECTS

Common for all Specializations

OIK111

Principles of Economic Analysis I

1

Required

250 - 300

10

OIK112

Statistical Analysis of Economic Data I

1

Required

ΟΙΚ113

250 - 300

10

OIK113

Quantitative Methods in Economics I

1

Required

250 - 300

10

OIK121

Principles of Economic Analysis II

2

Required

250 - 300

10

OIK122

Statistical Analysis of Economic Data II

2

Required

ΟΙΚ112

250 - 300

10

OIK123

Quantitative Methods in Economics II

2

Required

ΟΙΚ113

250 - 300

10

OIK211

Microeconomic Theory

3

Required

ΟΙΚ111

250 - 300

10

OIK212

Principles of Financial Accounting

3

Required

250 - 300

10

OIK213

Econometrics

3

Required

ΟΙΚ122

250 - 300

10

OIK221

Macroeconomic Theory

4

Required

ΟΙΚ121

250 - 300

10

OIK222

Public Economics

4

Required

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK223

Industrial Organization

4

Required

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK311

Introduction to Financial Theory

5

Required

ΟΙΚ212

250 - 300

10

OIK321

International Economics

6

Required

ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK315

Principles of Business Administration

5

Elective

250 - 300

10

OIK316

Topics in Advanced Microeconomics

5

Elective

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK324

Human Resource Management

6

Elective

250 - 300

10

OIK325

Labour Economics

6

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK326

Topics in Advanced Macroeconomics

6

Elective

ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK417

Marketing and Strategy

7

Elective

250 - 300

10

OIK418

Time Series Econometrics

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ213

250 - 300

10

OIK427

Philosophy of Economic Thought

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK428

Political Economy and Economic Systems

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK429

Mergers and Acquisitions

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

 

Specialization: Energy Economics with Emphasis in Oil and Gas Economics

OIK312

Energy and Natural Resource Economics

5

Required

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK322

Environmental Economics

6

Required

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK411

International Energy Markets

7

Required

ΟΙΚ321, ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK412

Oil and Gas Industry

7

Required

ΟΙΚ321

250 - 300

10

OIK421

Oil and Gas Markets: Financial Analysis

8

Required

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK422

Strategic Planning for the Oil and Gas Industry

8

Required

ΟΙΚ321, ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK313

Advanced  Business Economics

5

Elective

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK314

Organization of Business

5

Elective

ΟΙΚ212

250 - 300

10

OIK323

Corporate Finance

6

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK413

Organization of Business

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK414

Entrepreneurship, Theory and Practice

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK415

Securities and Investments

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK416

Banks and Banking Environment

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK423

Operations Management

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK424

E-Business

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK425

International Finance

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ311, ΟΙΚ321

250 - 300

10

OIK426

Risk Management in Banking

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

 

 Specialization: Business Economics

OIK313

Advanced  Business Economics

5

Required

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK323

Corporate Finance

6

Required

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK413

Organization of Business

7

Required

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK414

Entrepreneurship, Theory and Practice

7

Required

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK423

Operations Management

8

Required

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK424

E-Business

8

Required

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK312

Energy and Natural Resource Economics

5

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK314

Financial Accounting

5

Elective

ΟΙΚ212

250 - 300

10

OIK322

Environmental Economics

6

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK411

International Energy Markets

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ321, ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK412

Oil and Gas Industry

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ321

250 - 300

10

OIK415

Securities and Investments

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK416

Banks and Banking Environment

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK421

Oil and Gas Markets: Financial Analysis

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK422

Strategic Planning for the Oil and Gas Industry

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ321, ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK425

International Finance

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ311, ΟΙΚ321

250 - 300

10

OIK426

Risk Management in Banking

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

 

 Specialization: Banking and Finance

ΟΙΚ314  

Financial Accounting

5

Required

ΟΙΚ212

250 - 300

10

OIK323

Corporate Finance

6

Required

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK415

Securities and Investments

7

Required

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK416

Banks and Banking Environment

7

Required

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK425

International Finance

8

Required

ΟΙΚ311, ΟΙΚ321

250 - 300

10

OIK426

Risk Management in Banking

8

Required

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK312

Energy and Natural Resource Economics

5

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK313

Advanced  Business Economics

5

Elective

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK322

Environmental Economics

6

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK411

International Energy Markets

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ321, ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK412

Oil and Gas Industry

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ321

250 - 300

10

OIK413

Organization of Business

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK414

Entrepreneurship, Theory and Practice

7

Elective

ΟΙΚ211, ΟΙΚ221

250 - 300

10

OIK421

Oil and Gas Markets: Financial Analysis

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK422

Strategic Planning for the Oil and Gas Industry

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ321, ΟΙΚ311

250 - 300

10

OIK423

Operations Management

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

OIK424

E-Business

8

Elective

ΟΙΚ211

250 - 300

10

Σύνολο

6000 - 7200

240

 

 

 

OIK111, Principles of Economic Analysis I, 10 ects

OIK112, Statistical Analysis of Economic Data I, 10 ects

OIK113, Quantitative Methods in Economics I, 10 ects

OIK121, Principles of Economic Analysis II, 10 ects

OIK122, Statistical Analysis of Economic Data II, 10 ects

OIK123, Quantitative Methods in Economics II, 10 ects

OIK211, Microeconomic Theory, 10 ects

OIK212, Principles of Financial Accounting, 10 ects

OIK213, Econometrics, 10 ects

OIK221, Macroeconomic Theory, 10 ects

OIK222, Public Economics, 10 ects

OIK223, Industrial Organization, 10 ects

OIK311, Introduction to Financial Theory, 10 ects

OIK312, Energy and Natural Resource Economics, 10 ects

OIK313, Advanced  Business Economics, 10 ects

OIK314, Organization of Business, 10 ects

OIK315, Principles of Business Administration, 10 ects

OIK316, Topics in Advanced Microeconomics, 10 ects

OIK321, International Economics, 10 ects

OIK322, Environmental Economics, 10 ects

OIK323, Corporate Finance, 10 ects

OIK324, Human Resource Management, 10 ects

OIK325, Labour Economics, 10 ects

OIK326, Topics in Advanced Macroeconomics, 10 ects

OIK411, International Energy Markets, 10 ects

OIK412, Oil and Gas Industry, 10 ects

OIK413, Organization of Business, 10 ects

OIK414, Entrepreneurship, Theory and Practice, 10 ects

OIK415, Securities and Investments, 10 ects

OIK416, Banks and Banking Environment, 10 ects

OIK417, Marketing and Strategy, 10 ects

OIK418, Time Series Econometrics, 10 ects

OIK421, Oil and Gas Markets: Financial Analysis, 10 ects

OIK422, Strategic Planning for the Oil and Gas Industry, 10 ects

OIK423, Operations Management, 10 ects

OIK424, E-Business, 10 ects

OIK425, International Finance, 10 ects

OIK426, Risk Management in Banking, 10 ects

OIK427, Philosophy of Economic Thought, 10 ects

OIK428, Political Economy and Economic Systems, 10 ects

OIK429, Mergers and Acquisitions, 10 ects

Academic Personnel

Christina Christou, Associate Professor, Academic Coordinatorchristina.christou@ouc.ac.cy, 0035722411883

 

Adjunct Faculty (Tutors) - Fall Semester  

 

Name E-mail Modules Coordinator
Sotiris Karkalakos sotiris.karkalakos@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ111 Module coordinator
Christos Alexakis c.alexakis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ111      
Christos Bouras christos.bouras@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ112 Module coordinator
Stavros Degiannakis stavros.degiannakis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ112  
Georgios Stathakis georgios.stathakis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ113 Module coordinator
George Galanis george.galanis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ113   
Konstantinos Eleftheriou           konstantinos.eleftheriou@ouc.ac.cy          ΟΙΚ211           Module coordinator      
Vangelis Tzouvelekas vangelis.tzouvelekas@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ211   
Stergios Leventis stergios.leventis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ212  
Dimitrios Gounopoulos dimitrios.gounopoulos@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ212  Module coordinator
Vasileios Pappas vasileios.pappas@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ213  
Theodore Panagiotidis theodore.panagiotidis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ213  Module coordinator
Dimitris Kenourgios dimitris.kenourgios@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ311 Module coordinator
Antonios Rezitis antonios.rezitis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ312  Module coordinator
Apostolos Dasilas apostolos.dasilas@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ313 Module coordinator
Michael Pazarskis michael.pazarskis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ314  Module coordinator
Emmanouil Apergis emmanouil.apergis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ315 Module coordinator
Ioannis Tsakalos ioannis.tsakalos@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ411  Module coordinator
Stella Tsani stella.tsani@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ412 Module coordinator
Ioannis Dokas ioannis.dokas@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ413  Module coordinator
Ioanna Deligianni ioanna.deligianni@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ414  Module coordinator
Antonios Alexandridis antonios.alexandridis@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ415  Module coordinator
Apostolos Christopoulos apostolos.christopoulos@ouc.ac.cy  ΟΙΚ416  Module coordinator

For additional information, please contact Ms. Pitsillou Maria (maria.pitsillou@ouc.ac.cy), 00357-22411880