Website Headers TSP
  • Mission

  • Programmes

  • Doctoral Programmes

  • Laboratories

  • Academic Personnel

  • Contact

The pure and applied sciences are a guide for development, innovation and technology, elements necessary for the formation and evolution of modern society. 

The Programmes of Pure and Applied Sciences are fully compatible with European standards and have the characteristics of new disciplines: they started as a research specialization and today are scientific, technological and professional autonomous fields of knowledge that train scientists sufficiently in order to face current and future scientific challenges.

Programmes of the Faculty are also offered in English, with the aim of promoting research, attracting foreign students and the distinction and promotion of the Open University of Cyprus in the European and wider international space.



Offered Doctoral Programmes of the Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences, for the academic year 2023-2024 (fall semester):


The minimum time required to complete the doctorate is three (3) years, while the maximum duration is eight (8) years.



TEACHING LANGUAGE:  Greek or English

LEVEL: Doctorate

DEGREE AWARDED: Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)



Applicants must hold a Master's degree, or an equivalent degree, related or similar to the research area listed above. 

Candidates must submit:

Those interested in applying for the Doctoral Programme should include the following information in the "Statement of Interest":

  1. A Preliminary Title of the Doctoral Thesis
  2. A Summary of a 300-word research proposal, which will necessarily include the following:
  • Description of the goal / purpose
  • The importance of the research
  • Review of the bibliography
  • Brief reference to the proposed research methodology.     
  1. Scientific and other Distinctions
  2. Scientific and Research Activities
  3. Research Areas



Tuition fees for doctoral programs amounts to €675 per semester for the first six (6) semesters. In case the study lasts longer, then the following applies: for the first four (4) and the last two (2) semesters, the cost amounts to €675 per semester and for the remaining semesters, the cost amounts to €100 per semester. No tuition is paid for the "Academic Writing (DXXX796)" and the "Research Methodology (DXXXX795)", which are mandatory at the beginning of the study.


Internal Regulations for Doctoral Studies (Revised)



Applications can be submitted exclusively online:

Αιτήσεις Αγγ χωρίς ημερομηνίσ

 Application dates for the spring semester of the Academic year 2023-2024 : April 27 - May 30, 2023.



For additional information, please contact Ms. Marianna Prodromou (, 00357-22411651.


Dean: Ioannis Manolopoulos, Professor

Deputy Dean: Jahna Otterbacher, Associate Professor

{component url="index.php?option=com_comprofiler&view=userslist&listid=8&searchmode=20"} 


Past Faculty


Administrative Personnel

Marianna Prodromou,

Xenia Pavli,