Website Headers COS
  • Description

  • Programme structure

  • Modules

  • Academic Personnel

  • Contact Details

PROGRAMME OBJECTIVES

The Undergraduate Programme “Studies in Hellenic Culture” introduces students to the culture developed in the Greek-speaking world from antiquity to the present day, charting its metamorphoses and transformations, its contradictions and complexities. Through this critical lens, the Programme underscores the fundamental association between cultural processes and historical determinants.

The wider goal of the Programme is to build such cognitive, metacognitive, methodological, and epistemological foundations to allow students to delve deep into the cultural phenomena at large and to realise that what one calls ‘culture’ or ‘national/ cultural identity’ is, in fact, a construct of an often grievously antagonised and anxiety-ridden, ideological and political nature. The Programme emphasises the study of primary sources (texts, artworks, archaeological material, etc.) as a means of achieving theoretical awareness and honing critical sensibilities and research skills.  

WHY CHOOSE TO ATTEND?

The Programme graduates are employable in a variety of professional sectors, such as the culture industry ( organisations, museums, cultural services, etc.), tourism, education and the civil service. Moreover, students who have completed the Modules “Ancient Greek Language” (I, II) and “Latin Language” (I, II) are eligible to participate in the Republic of Cyprus state examination to be appointed in secondary education. 

 

The Programme is evaluated and certified by the Cyprus Agency of Quality Assurance and Accreditation in Higher Education.

 

European Credit Units - ECTS: 240

Teaching Language: Greek

Level of Studies: Undergraduate

Title to be Awarded: Bachelor’s degree (BA)

 

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

  • Certificate of Secondary Education (‘Apolytirion’) or equivalent.
  • Competence in the use of computers and basic IT resources (Internet, email, etc.)
  • Sufficient command of the English language is not mandatory, but it is considered necessary.

FEES / ADMINISTRATIVE COST

The total administrative cost of the Programme is €7000. The cost of each Module (Thematic Unit) is €350. Administrative costs are charged per Module.

APPLICATIONS

Applications can be submitted only electronically, via the OUC website at https://applications.ouc.ac.cy/admissions?sap-language=EN

PROGRAMME STRUCTURE

To obtain a bachelor's degree, successful attendance and examination in at least twenty (20) modules, twelve (12) core and eight (8) elective modules are required. The programme offers three (3) directions: (a) Literature, (b) History - Archeology - Art and (c) General. The student can choose up to three (3) core modules and up to two (2) elective modules per semester. Attendance of the modules offered in the first and second year of study is mandatory.

Compulsory Modules

(maximum number of options per semester: 3 modules)

1st semester

ELL111, Introduction to the Study of Civilization (Theory and Practice)

ELL112, Ancient Greek History (1200 BCE - 330 CE)

ELL113, Ancient Greek Art (1200 BCE – 330 CE)

2nd semester

ELL121, Byzantine History (330 - 1453 CE)

ELL122, Byzantine Art (330 - 1453 CE)

ELL123, Modern Greek History I (1770 - 1909)

3rd semester

ELL211, Ancient Greek Literature (Archaic – Classical Periods)

ELL212, Modern Greek History IΙ (1909 - 1949)

ELL213, Modern Greek Literature I (16th-19th century)

4th semester

ELL221, Ancient Greek Philosophy (Plato-Aristotle)

ELL222, Hellenistic and Early Byzantine Literature (3rd c. BCE -7th c. CE)

ELL223, Modern Greek Literature II (20th century)

Direction: Literature

(maximum number of options in each academic semester: 2 modules)

5th semester

ELL311, Αncient Greek Ι

ELL312, Latin Ι

ELL313, Aspects of Modern Greek Literature (20th Century)

6th semester

ELL321, Αncient Greek ΙΙ

ELL322, Latin ΙΙ

ELL323, Aspects of Ancient Greek and Byzantine Philosophy

7th semester

ELL411, Αncient Greek Theatre Ι (Tragedy)

ELL412, Byzantine Literature (7th–15th century)

ELL413, Aspects of Ancient Greek Literature

8th semester

ELL421, Αncient Greek Theatre IΙ (Comedy)

ELL422, The Literature of Cyprus (12th–20th century)

ELL423, Linguistics

Direction: History - Archeology - Art

(maximum number of options per semester: 2 modules)

5th semester

ELL314, Aspects of Ancient Greek Art

ELL315, Aspects of Roman History

ELL316, Introduction to Epigraphy and Numismatics

6th semester

ELL324, Aspects of the History of Late Antiquity

ELL325, History of Ancient and Medieval Cyprus

ELL326, Aspects of Economical and Social History of the Modern Greek World

7th semester 

ELL414, Modern History of Cyprus (1878 - 1974)

ELL415, Modern Greek Art: Sculpture-Painting

ELL416, The Sciences in Ancient Greece and Byzantium

8th semester 

ELL424, Archaeological Theory and Practice

ELL425, Art and Theatre in Modern Greece and Cyprus

ELL426, Aspects of Byzantine Art

Direction: General

It combines modules from the above two directions of Literature and History-Archeology-Art

ELL111, Introduction to the Study of Civilization (Theory and Practice), 10 ects

ELL112, Ancient Greek History (1200 BCE - 330 CE), 10 ects

ELL113, Ancient Greek Art (1200 BCE – 330 CE), 10 ects

ELL121, Byzantine History (330 - 1453 CE), 10 ects

ELL122, Byzantine Art (330 - 1453 CE), 10 ects

ELL123, Modern Greek History I (1770 - 1909), 10 ects

ELL211, Ancient Greek Literature (Archaic – Classical Periods), 10 ects

ELL212, Modern Greek History IΙ (1909 - 1949), 10 ects

ELL213, Modern Greek Literature I (16th-19th century), 10 ects

ELL221, Ancient Greek Philosophy (Plato-Aristotle), 10 ects

ELL222, Hellenistic and Early Byzantine Literature (3rd c. BCE -7th c. CE), 10 ects

ELL223, Modern Greek Literature II (20th century), 10 ects

ELL311, Αncient Greek Ι, 15 ects

ELL312, Latin Ι, 15 ects

ELL313, Aspects of Modern Greek Literature (20th Century), 15 ects

ELL314, Aspects of Ancient Greek Art, 15 ects

ELL315, Aspects of Roman History, 15 ects

ELL316, Introduction to Epigraphy and Numismatics, 15 ects

ELL321, Αncient Greek ΙΙ, 15 ects

ELL322, Latin ΙΙ, 15 ects

ELL323, Aspects of Ancient Greek and Byzantine Philosophy, 15 ects

ELL324, Aspects of the History of Late Antiquity, 15 ects

ELL325, History of Ancient and Medieval Cyprus, 15 ects

ELL326, Aspects of Economical and Social History of the Modern Greek World, 15 ects

ELL411, Αncient Greek Theatre Ι (Tragedy), 15 ects

ELL412, Byzantine Literature (7th–15th century), 15 ects

ELL413, Aspects of Ancient Greek Literature, 15 ects

ELL414, Modern History of Cyprus (1878 - 1974), 15 ects

ELL415, Modern Greek Art: Sculpture-Painting, 15 ects

ELL416, The Sciences in Ancient Greece and Byzantium, 15 ects

ELL421, Αncient Greek Theatre IΙ (Comedy), 15 ects

ELL422, The Literature of Cyprus (12th–20th century), 15 ects

ELL423, Linguistics, 15 ects

ELL424, Archaeological Theory and Practice, 15 ects

ELL425, Art and Theatre in Modern Greece and Cyprus, 15 ects

ELL426, Aspects of Byzantine Art, 15 ects

Academic Personnel

Georgios Deligiannakis, Associate Professor, Academic Coordinator, ΕΛΛ315, g.deligiannakis@ouc.ac.cy, 0035722411984

Stephanos Efthymiadis, Professor, efthymiadis@ouc.ac.cy, 0035722411982

Antonis Petrides, Associate Professor, apetrides@ouc.ac.cy, 0035722411983

 

Adjunct Faculty (Tutors)

 

Fall Semester
Modules Name Module coordinator     E-mail
 ELL111     Lykourgos Kourkouvelas         Module coordinator   lykourgos.kourkouvelas@ouc.ac.cy
Savvas Kyriakidis    savvas.kyriakidis1@ouc.ac.cy
Maria Papadaki   maria.papadaki@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL112  Maria Patera Module coordinator  maria.patera1@ouc.ac.cy
Eleni Fassa Module coordinator  eleni.fassa@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL113  Mairi Gkikaki    mairi.gkikaki@ouc.ac.cy
Angelos Papadopoulos Module coordinator  angelos.papadopoulos@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL211  Maria Noussia Module coordinator  maria.noussia@ouc.ac.cy  
 ELL212   Konstantinos Doukakis Module coordinator  konstantinos.doukakis@ouc.ac.cy  
Maria Mandamadiotou    maria.mandamadiotou@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL213  Christos Daniil Module coordinator  christos.daniil@ouc.ac.cy  
Demetra Demetriou    demetra.demetriou@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL311   Andreas Serafim Module coordinator  andreas.serafim@ouc.ac.cy  
 ELL312  Stella Alekou Module coordinator  stella.alekou@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL313   Christos Daniil Module coordinator  christos.daniil@ouc.ac.cy  
 ELL314  Anthi Dipla Module coordinator  anthi.dipla@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL316  Eleni Fassa Module coordinator  eleni.fassa@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL411  Anna Zouganeli Module coordinator  anna.zouganeli@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL412   Charalampos Messis Module coordinator  charalampos.messis@ouc.ac.cy  
 ELL414  
Andreas Karyos Module coordinator  andreas.karyos@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL415   Charis Kanellopoulou Module coordinator  charis.kanellopoulou@ouc.ac.cy   
 ELL416  Ioannis Vandoulakis Module coordinator  ioannis.vandoulakis@ouc.ac.cy
       
Spring Semester
Modules Name Module Coordinator   E-mail
 ELL121  Charalampos Messis Module coordinator  charalampos.messis@ouc.ac.cy  
Efthymios Rizos    efthymios.rizos@ouc.ac.cy 
 ELL122  Elenu Lianta    eleni.lianta@ouc.ac.cy 
Maria Papadaki Module coordinator   maria.papadaki@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL123  Maria Mandamadiotou Module coordinator  maria.mandamadiotou@ouc.ac.cy
Dimitrios Stamatopoulos    dimitrios.stamatopoulos@ouc.ac.cy 
 ELL221  Eleni Kaklamanou Module coordinator  eleni.kaklamanou@ouc.ac.cy 
 ELL222  Foteini Spingou Module coordinator  foteini.spingou@ouc.ac.cy 
 ELL223  Evangelia Vogiatzaki    evangelia.vogiatzaki@ouc.ac.cy 
Christos Daniil Module coordinator  christos.daniil@ouc.ac.cy  
 ELL321  Andreas Serafim Module coordinator  andreas.serafim@ouc.ac.cy  
 ELL322  Thomas Tsartsidis Module coordinator  
 ELL323  Georgia Tsouni Module coordinator  georgia.tsouni@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL325  Nikolaos Papadimitriou Module coordinator  nikolaos.papadimitriou@ouc.ac.cy 
 ELL326  Konstantinos Doukakis Module coordinator  konstantinos.doukakis@ouc.ac.cy  
 ELL423  Dimitrios Michelioudakis Module coordinator  dimitrios.michelioudakis@ouc.ac.cy 
 ELL424  Theodoros Giannopoulos Module coordinator  theodoros.giannopoulos@ouc.ac.cy
 ELL425  Charis Kanellopoulou Module coordinator  charis.kanellopoulou@ouc.ac.cy   
 ELL426  Eirini Panou    eirini.panou@ouc.ac.cy 

Administrative personnel: Charoula Christofi  (Temporary Office Assistant)

Email: charoula.christofi@ouc.ac.cy

Tel. 00357-22411743